Duquesne University School of Law

Appellate Moot Court Board 2016-2017 Competitions

National Arbitration Competition
November 5-6, 2016

Jacob Mellor, William Young, Grant Olson, and Kate McCarthy












Congratulations to the Appellate Moot Court Board team that competed in the American Bar Association Arbitration Competition at American University Washington College of Law on November 5-6, 2016.

Jacob Mellor, William Patrick Young, Grant Olsen, and Kate McCarthy, all second-year students, advanced to the semi-finals after defeating American University and Georgetown University, before falling to Michigan State University in a tightly contested match-up. Ryan Wilk, L’13, coached the team.  

Harold H. Greene & Joyce Hens Green
National Security Law Moot Court Competition
February 11-12, 2017

Allen Page and Karissa Murphy












Congratulations to Allen Page and Karissa Murphy, who won first place at the Harold H. Greene and Joyce Hens Green National Security Law Moot Court Competition in Washington, D.C. The 2L students beat teams from Georgetown Law Center, George Washington University School of Law, University of Virginia School of Law, and Fordham Law School.

The competition problem involved complex national security law issues concerning the No Fly List, proper remedial schemes, and procedural due process.

The prestigious competition featured a distinguished panel of judges, including Kiran Raj, deputy general counsel at the U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security, Colonel Denise Lind, chief judge, First Judicial Circuit, U.S. Army Trial Judiciary, and the Hon. Andrew Effron, former chief judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces and current director of the Military Justice Review Group

This is the first year Duquesne’s Appellate Moot Court Board was invited to the competition. Congratulations to Murphy and Page, as well as Devon Ferris, L’16, who coached and traveled with the team.

National Appellate Advocacy Competition
February 23-25, 2017

Adrienne Box, Jamie Inferrera, and Samantha Zimmer Drew Sheldon, Amy Kerlin, and Matthew Goodard


Congratulations to Adrienne Box, Samantha Zimmer, and Jamie Inferrera, regional semi-finalists at the National Appellate Advocacy Competition, and Zimmer, who was named 6th best advocate out of more than 60 competitors! The Duquesne students beat teams from Case Western, Texas Tech, and Wake Forest. The team was undefeated, 3-0, going into the semi-final round, before a close loss to Regent.

The Duquesne team of Amy Kerlin, Drew Sheldon, and Matt Goddard also gave an amazing showing at the prestigious ABA competition, losing by only .55 in the third round. Congratulations to all of our students and Adj. Prof. Erin Karsman, our Appellate Moot Court Board coordinator and coach. 


Federal Bar Association Young Lawyers Division
Annual Thurgood Marshall Memorial Moot Court Competition
March 16-17, 2017

Kara Beck, Robert Shope,
Katelin Montgomery, L'16 (coach),
Cezanne Tollari, and Alyssa Dedola















Congratulations to Kara Beck, Robert Shope, Cezanne Tollari, and Alyssa Dedola for a great showing at the Federal Bar Association Thurgood Marshall Memorial Moot Court Competition in Washington, D.C. Beck and Shope both received excellent feedback from the judges, but narrowly missed advancing on to the Round of 16. The team of Tollari and Dedola advanced to the Round of 16 before being eliminated in a closely contested match-up. 

Katelin Montgomery, L'16, an AMCB alum, coached and traveled with the teams.


August Rendigs Products Liability Competition
March 24-25, 2017

 Megan Matcherz, Filip Rams, and Alison Viola  Colin Drummond and Amanda Geary















Seigenthaler-Sutherland Cup National First Amendment Moot Court Competition
March 24-25, 2017

Bruce Castor III













Herbert Wechsler National Criminal Competition
April 1, 2017

 Christian Hakim and Lisle Weaver  Katherine Leonard and Nicole Blackwell











Learn More

Read about the appellate advocacy program.

Meet the Appellate Moot Court Board members